Brexit is imminent: Certified translations for your change of company name

We provide high-quality translations of your commercial register excerpt, merger plan or shareholders’ resolution

The English Limited used to be a popular legal form in Germany, until the so-called “entrepreneurial company” (Unternehmergesellschaft or UG) was introduced. It was possible to set up a limited liability company with significantly less share capital. Due to the Brexit, the Limited may now turn into a liability trap for shareholders.

Brexit: GB companies operating in Germany must change their legal form

More than 30,000 companies with administrative headquarters in Germany operate under an English legal form, such as a Limited or a PLC. As things stand at present, Great Britain will leave the EU on 29 March 2019. Companies must expect to have their legal form disestablished. It can therefore be assumed that the Limited and the PLC will be treated like a general partnership (OHG) or a civil partnership (GbR) after Brexit. The European Court of Justice had ruled this way in a corresponding verdict. From now on, shareholders may be held liable for corporate liabilities also with their private assets.

Renewal of the Transformation Act provides remedy

At the suggestion of the Federal Minister of Justice, Katarina Barley, the Transformation Act was renewed. It has been in force since 1 January 2019. Companies with German administrative headquarters and English legal form can convert their English legal form into a GmbH or UG. The following options are available for this purpose:

  • Merger
  • Change of legal form
  • Holding structure

Detail of the law requires swift action

The Transformation Act stipulates that companies must have their transformation plans notarized before Brexit. Only then can the new law be applied. Although a change of legal form is still possible up to two years later, the legal documents must be certified and notarized beforehand. Until then, there are currently less than three months left. Time is of the essence.

We provide high-quality translations of your legal documents

The transformation of your Limited or PLC can be carried out under the EU Directive 2005/56/EC. On the German side, the Transformation Act forms the legal basis. Since both in Germany and in England corresponding legal documents must be submitted to the competent courts, the process requires some certified and above all legally correct translations.

English excerpt from commercial register to be submitted to German court

In order to merge your company with a German GmbH, UG or AG, you first need a “Pre-Merger Certificate”. The certificate of approval can be applied for at the English court.

Since the merger can only be carried out after the consent of a court and a period of two months from the date of announcement in the English Commercial Register, the notarization of the certified translation of the “Pre-Merger Certificate” is sufficient.

Merger plan and resolution of the Annual General Meeting or the Shareholders’ Meeting

The merger plan must be submitted to both the English and the German notary. In addition, shareholders of both countries have an interest in the document. A certified and accurate translation that strikes the right note and communicates information correctly is therefore essential.

The merger, the change of legal form or the establishment of a holding structure shall be resolved by the shareholders. For the notaries to be able to act, they must see a certified resolution of the Annual General Meeting or the Shareholders’ Meeting that records the proposed transaction. You therefore need the document both in English and German.

As a commercially oriented translation agency with core competencies in corporate law, we are happy to support you in the upcoming change of legal form or a merger due to the Brexit.

Do you have questions regarding our services or have a specific enquiry?  Feel free to call us at +49 6171 – 7039 966 or send us an Email!

Der Brexit steht bevor: Beglaubigte Übersetzungen für Ihre Umfirmierung

Wir fertigen hochwertige Übersetzungen Ihres HR-Auszugs, Merger Plans oder Hauptversammlungsbeschlusses

Die englische Limited war seinerzeit eine beliebte Rechtsform, bis die Unternehmergesellschaft eingeführt wurde. Mit deutlich weniger Startkapital konnte eine haftungsbeschränkte Kapitalgesellschaft gegründet werden. Dank des Brexits droht die Limited nun für Gesellschafter zur Haftungsfalle zu werden.

Brexit: In Deutschland tätige GB-Gesellschaften müssen umfirmieren

Über 30.000 Unternehmen mit Verwaltungssitz in Deutschland agieren unter einer englischen Rechtsform, wie einer Limited oder einer PLC. Nach derzeitigem Stand wird Großbritannien am 29. März 2019 aus der EU ausscheiden. Unternehmen müssen mit der Aberkennung ihrer Rechtsform rechnen. So ist davon auszugehen, dass die Limited und die PLC nach dem Brexit wie eine OHG oder eine GbR behandelt werden. Der EuGH hatte in einem entsprechenden Urteil so entschieden. Für betriebliche Verbindlichkeiten können Gesellschafter fortan mit ihrem Privatvermögen haftbar gemacht werden.

Erneuerung des Umwandlungsgesetz schafft Abhilfe

Auf Anregung der Bundesjustizministerin Katarina Barley wurde das Umwandlungsgesetz erneuert. Es ist seit dem 1. Januar 2019 in Kraft. Unternehmen mit deutschem Verwaltungssitz und englischer Rechtsform können ihre englische Gesellschaftsform in eine GmbH oder UG umwandeln. Dabei stehen folgende Vorgänge zur Auswahl:

  • Verschmelzung
  • Formwechsel
  • Holdingstruktur

Detail des Gesetzes erfordert schnelles Handeln

Das Umwandlungsgesetz sieht vor, dass Unternehmen ihre entsprechenden Umwandlungspläne noch vor dem Brexit notariell beurkunden lassen. Nur dann kann das neue Gesetz zur Anwendung kommen. Eine Umwandlung ist zwar noch bis zu zwei Jahre später möglich, doch die Rechtsdokumente müssen vorher beglaubigt und notariell beurkundet werden. Bis dahin bleiben zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt weniger als drei Monate. Die Zeit drängt.

Wir fertigen hochwertige Übersetzungen Ihrer Rechtsdokumente an

Die Umwandlung Ihrer Limited oder PLC kann im Rahmen der EU-Richtlinie 2005/56/EG vollzogen werden. Auf deutscher Seite bildet das Umwandlungsgesetz die Rechtsgrundlage. Da sowohl in Deutschland als auch in England entsprechende Rechtsdokumente den zuständigen Gerichten vorgelegt werden müssen, bedarf der Prozess einiger beglaubigten und vor allem juristisch korrekten Übersetzungen.

Englischer Handelsregisterauszug ist deutschem Gericht vorzulegen

Um Ihr Unternehmen mit einer deutschen GmbH, UG oder AG zu verschmelzen, bedarf es zunächst eines „Pre-Merger Certificates“. Die Genehmigungsurkunde kann beim englischen Gericht beantragt werden.

Da die Verschmelzung erst nach Einwilligung eines Gerichts und einer zweimonatigen Frist ab dem Zeitpunkt der Bekanntmachung im englischen Handelsregister vollzogen werden kann, genügt die notarielle Beurkundung der beglaubigten Übersetzung des „Pre-Merger Certificates“.

Merger Plan und Gesellschafter- oder Hauptversammlungsbeschluss

Der Verschmelzungsplan, oder auch Merger Plan, ist sowohl dem englischen, als auch dem deutschen Notar vorzulegen. Zudem haben Gesellschafter beider Länder ein Interesse an dem Dokument. Eine beglaubigte und präzise Übersetzung, die den Tonfall trifft und Informationen korrekt kommuniziert ist daher unerlässlich.

Die Verschmelzung, der Rechtsformwechsel oder der Aufbau einer Holdingstruktur wird von den Gesellschaftern bzw. Aktionären bestimmt. Damit die Notare tätig werden können, müssen sie einen beglaubigten Gesellschafter- oder Hauptversammlungsbeschluss sehen, der das Vorhaben festhält. Sie benötigen das Dokument daher sowohl in Englisch als auch auf Deutsch.

Als wirtschaftliches Übersetzungsbüro mit gesellschaftsrechtlichen Kernkompetenzen unterstützen wir Sie gerne beim anstehenden Formwechsel oder einer Verschmelzung aufgrund des Brexits.

Haben Sie Fragen zu unseren Leistungen oder eine konkrete Anfrage? Dann rufen Sie uns am besten gleich unter +49 6171 7039 966 an oder senden uns eine E-Mail!